0 Menu

PAPIER TIGRE - 'Recreation' (CD)

by Papier Tigre


AT035 - MM003
Released : March 1st 2012

5 years after they started from scratch, PAPIER TIGRE have built a name for themselves with two albums « PAPIER TIGRE » (2007) and « THE BEGINNING AND END OF NOW » (2008) and 350 shows in more than 20 countries over 3 continents, with the three-piece appearing at ATP among other festivals around the globe.

Their music is firmly entrenched in the tradition of inventive, challenging punk but combines elements of experimental pop compositions and aggressive math-rock. The band understands that a song being intelligent and complex need not exclude it from having a raw, danceable energy.

For their new album « RECREATION », the band teamed up with John Congleton (Explosions in the Sky, the Roots, Bill Callahan, The pAper chAse...) to produce their most significant work yet. Pushing the limits of their unusual line-up (drums, 2 guitars, percussion, vocals), the band has matured into a devastatingly efficient unit, with instruments, ideas and personalities bouncing off each other in an audible culture of creativity. The 10 songs are an impressive account of the band's ability to balance different atmospheres, underlined by original rhythmic patterns, minimalist melodic lines and distinctive vocal hooks, the whole blossoming under Congelton’s sonic prowess.

If you have heard them before, the band you will come back to is now a cacophonous tour de force: louder, wilder, avidly literate; fiercely melodic, yet eagerly restrained. If you haven't heard them, they probably are the best thing you've never heard, and if you've never heard them, you probably should, and here's your chance !

1- I'm Someone Who Dies
2- Chimera
3- Home Truth
4- This And That And More Of This And That
5- The Later Reply
6- Demand
7- Afternoons
8- Teenage Lifetime
9- Parents And Neighbours
10- Wandering Cage

Listen to 'I'm Someone Who Dies', excerpt from 'Recreation'